The DPS Economic Development division is responsible primarily for the diversification of the local economy, expansion of the tax base, maintaining existing jobs and creating new jobs.

The division's staff pursue these activities through support for the Allen County Redevelopment Commission, Allen County Economic Development Commission, Allen County Board of Commissioners, and Allen County Council. All activities of these groups and the staff are governed by numerous provisions of Title 36 of the Indiana Code. These are pursued in unincorporated Allen County as well as the incorporated communities of Grabill, Huntertown, Monroeville, New Haven, and Woodburn. On behalf of the Board of Commissioners, staff administers the Economic Development Fund and negotiates incentive packages for existing and arriving industries. In recent years, the Redevelopment Commission has exercised its ability to construct water and sewer infrastructure throughout the County to promote industrial development. The staff processes applications for economic revitalization area designation (which allows for tax abatement) for the Allen County Council as well as for city and town councils in the smaller communities. The Economic Development Commission and County Council decide applications for industrial revenue bonds that are processed by staff. The General Motors plant located in Lafayette Township illustrates the type and quality of work accomplished by these elected and appointed bodies and the staff that supports them.

DPS Economic Development division staff also works closely with others whose goals are to foster new and expanding industries in the community. Among these groups are the City of Fort Wayne, the Fort Wayne-Allen County Economic Development Alliance, WorkOne Northeast, the Northeast Indiana Regional Partnership, and the Greater Fort Wayne Chamber of Commerce. In addition, staff provides a major service to the community through its research and analysis of business trends in the community. An Economic Analysis of Allen County, Indiana, published by staff in 1998, was recognized nationally for its in-depth look at the community's economy in historic terms. As part of the Department of Planning Services and, thus, subject to its mission statement, the economic development staff also participates directly in the responsibilities assigned to other divisions of the department. It does this by working closely with the land use planning staff in the coordinating and planning for the location or expansion of industries in the community.

Department of Planning Services

Contact Info

Suite 150 Citizen Square
200 East Berry Street
Fort Wayne, IN 46802
M-F 8am - 5:00pm

Phone 260.449.7607
Fax 260.449.7682

Executive Director
Kimberly Bowman, AICP

Deputy Director for Land Use
Paul Blisk, AICP

Director of Redevelopment
Elissa M. McGauley, AICP