The Department of Planning Services Economic Development Division is primarily responsible for assisting new and existing businesses with incentives available in Allen County. The economic development division staff works closely with their colleagues on the land use planning staff in coordinating and planning for the location or expansion of businesses in the community.  Additionally, division staff relies on its local and state partmers such as the City of Fort Wayne, Greater Fort Wayne, Inc., WorkOne Northeast, and the Northeast Indiana Regional Partnership to promote new and expansion projects in the county.

Economic development and redevelopment activities are approved and carried out by the Allen County Redevelopment Commission, the Allen County Economic Development Commission, the Allen County Board of Commissioners and the Allen County Council with the support of the economic development division staff. All activities of these groups are governed by state enabling legislation contained in Indiana Code, as well as local policies and procedures.  On behalf of the Board of Commissioners, staff administers the Economic Development Fund and negotiates incentive packages for new and existing businesses.  

In recent years, the Redevelopment Commission has exercised its ability to construct water and sewer infrastructure throughout the county to promote industrial development through the use of tax increment financing.  Staff process requests for economic revitalization area designation for property tax abatement (aka phase-in) for the Allen County Council as well as for the incorporated communities of Grabill, Huntertown, New Haven, Monroeville, and Woodburn. The Economic Development Commission and County Council are responsible for approving applications for industrial revenue bonds that are processed by staff as well.


Department of Planning Services

Contact Info

Suite 150 Citizen Square
200 East Berry Street
Fort Wayne, IN 46802
M-F 8am - 5:00pm

Phone 260.449.7607
Fax 260.449.7682

Executive Director
Kimberly Bowman, AICP

Deputy Director for Land Use
Paul Blisk, AICP

Director of Redevelopment
Elissa M. McGauley, AICP